General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Groupsets help Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-12-11 5:37 AM

User image

Regular
Subject: Groupsets help

Hey all,

I need to upgrade my groupset, thinking about going ultegra or 105. But was wondering are these all the same for tri bikes and road bikes?

I've got a road bike at the moment but will be buying a tri bike in the next couple of years so don't want to buy a groupset if it's not going to work on my tri bike.

Excuse the ignorance, I'm new to cycling.

Cheers

Scott

2012-12-11 6:03 AM
in reply to: #4530260

User image

Extreme Veteran
Mount Joy
Subject: RE: Groupsets help
Groupset should work with your tri bike outside of the shifters obviously. Also their may be a difference in the front derailluer being either braze on or clamp on but that is an easy fix for the most part. If I were you I would go with ultegra. Also don't be afraid to look at SRAM components like Rival or Force.
2012-12-11 6:22 AM

User image

Champion
Montague Gold Mines, Nova Scotia
What do you currently have and why are you upgrading?

If you are planning to buy a complete tribike, it is very likely it will be 105 level at a minimum so I wouldn't worry to much about whether you can then move your upgraded components from the road bike to a tribike.

While the shifters are an obvious issue, there are others things to consider such as BB type which may make part of your groupset incompatible with your tribike.

Shane
2012-12-11 6:26 AM

User image

Champion
Checkin' out the podium girls
Groupsets wear out. Bushings, bearings and cog teeth lose crisp tolerance after years of use. Also, technology improves yearly and obsolescence comes along.

Unless you're planning on buying a state of the art, 2013 groupset at top $$$ and using it for only a season or 2 on your road frame before moving it, I wouldn't do this.