General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Calories, HR and nutrition: what do I need? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-12-18 4:41 PM

User image

Florida
Subject: Calories, HR and nutrition: what do I need?

I'm new to the HR training thing and have no idea what to do with all this data!  Taking into account heart rate, age, and weight, Garmin calculates I burned 1,172 calories for a 60 mile bike ride.  This ride was mostly Z1 and Z2, with a little Z3.   My questions are:

Does this seem accurate for a 5'4, 125 lb, 30 year old female?

But most importantly, what the heck does this mean as far as what I need to take in nutritionally???  How many of those calories need to be replenished?  

I've done a few HIMs without a solid nutrition plan.  I designated what I thought I needed and trained with it accordingly.  It has worked for me, but I understand an IM will NOT tolerate this fickle approach.  I'm training for IMTX and don't have a clue where to start with how much nutrition I need.  I know what foods and drinks my body can tolerate, but quantity of each is undetermined.   Help please!

Edited by BLT1115 2012-12-18 4:42 PM

2012-12-18 5:27 PM
in reply to: #4540270

User image

Master
Denison Texas
Subject: RE: Calories, HR and nutrition: what do I need?
BLT1115 - 2012-12-18 4:41 PM

I'm new to the HR training thing and have no idea what to do with all this data!  Taking into account heart rate, age, and weight, Garmin calculates I burned 1,172 calories for a 60 mile bike ride.  This ride was mostly Z1 and Z2, with a little Z3.   My questions are:

Does this seem accurate for a 5'4, 125 lb, 30 year old female?

But most importantly, what the heck does this mean as far as what I need to take in nutritionally???  How many of those calories need to be replenished?