General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Half Ironman Advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-01-27 7:53 AM

New user
Indianapolis, Indiana
Subject: First Half Ironman Advice
Hello,

I'm working to compete in my first half ironman this year in Muncie, IN on July 13th. I have a limited triathlon background, completed my first sprint last year. My background is definitely not athletic, lifted weights in high school, but over the last two years have really come to enjoy running and really taking care of my body. Last year I wanted a great challenge so I decided to get into triathlons. I'm really looking for any tips on preparing, mentally and physically. I plan on competing in an Olympic distance in early may, and then hitting the HIM at full speed in July. I am looking at the 20 week program here at BT, but I'm still relatively new to heart rate, the different levels of output and how to keep myself going each week. I do not plan on touching or smelling the podium, but at least want to be able to finish respectably. Any suggestions for a first time HIM triathlete?

2013-01-27 9:47 AM
in reply to: #4596335

User image

Extreme Veteran
Cypress, TX
Subject: RE: First Half Ironman Advice
I won't get into detailed specifics of the training.  Just wanted to give you some quick bullet points.

• Have fun.
  • Make sure the swim isn't taking too much out of you.  You want to be pretty fresh starting the bike so don't swim at a redline pace on race day.  You don't want to start the bike ride with your heart thumping out of your chest.
  • Bike, bike, bike and then bike some more.  People overly concern themselves with the run when they should be overly concerning themselves with the bike.
  • Nutrition.  Start figuring out your nutrition plan while you're training.  What am I going to eat/drink?  How am I going to eat/drink it?  How many calories, carbs, electrolytes do I need?