General Discussion Triathlon Talk » TI vs swim speed secrets Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-04-09 10:13 AM

User image

Regular
Texas
Subject: TI vs swim speed secrets

I am new to triathlon (about to run my 3rd race this weekend). Of the 3 sports, swimming is the one that I have the most experience with throughout my life, but I'm still nowhere near "good" at it.

When I started training my friend gave me the TI book. I used it for my first race, and did ok. The more I used the TI method though, the more I felt like I could be more efficient and go faster. That lead me to Taormina’s Swim Speed Secrets.

I liked the book, and have been using it since January. I am faster, I will say that. But I am still a wreck in the pool trying to get this technique down. I also have started to have some swimmer's shoulder/tendinitis flare up at times. I am not ready to ditch this method yet, I just wanted to know if anyone else has struggled this way switching over.

I need to say that I have not put a lot of volume in just yet. The longest I have swam using this is a mile, and I have only done that once. Could this just be something that will improve with volume (as most things do)? I am more concerned with the tendinitis than anything.

Thanks for the help!

2013-04-09 10:50 AM
in reply to: #4692991

User image

Veteran
Panama City, FL
Subject: RE: TI vs swim speed secrets
AFter having read/watched and studied both, i think both can be helpful to the new swimmer/triathlete. I don't think it has to be one OR the other. TI has some good basic concepts that are helpful to understand with regard to body position. SSS really focuses on importance of the PULL - generating power. Yes, you need good body position, but SSS focuses on the pull. She is not an advocate of OVERgliding or the thought that body position alone will get you there. I take both concepts and they have both helped me- it does not have to be one or the other.
2013-04-09 10:54 AM

User image