General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question about my Tri/Adventure Race Training Plan Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-05-30 4:48 PM

User image

Subject: Question about my Tri/Adventure Race Training Plan
Hello everyone,

I'm new to BeginnerTriathlete.com, and I've just started training for my very first Adventure Race and plan on knocking some Tri's out along the way. I'm currently 145 pounds, 24 years of age, run often. I would like some opinions/improvements on my training scheduled I've crafted in preparation for the upcoming races.

-May 28th
Long Run (8-13mi)

-May 29th
Road Ride (16-25mi)
Gym (Upper & Core)

-May 30th
Run (4-5mi)
Swim Laps (10-15 minutes)

-May 31st
Run (3mi warmup / 8x200 Hills)
Ride (16-30mi)

-June 1st
Run (5-6mi)
Gym (Full Body)

-June 2nd
Run (4-5mi)
Swim (10-15 minutes)

-June 3rd
Run (4-5mi)
Gym (Core & Lower)

-June 4th
Long Run (8-10mi)

-June 5th
Road Ride (17-26mi)
Gym (Upper & Core)

These are a few days out of my schedule, If you need any other information please feel free to ask.

Edited by ShaneSchwarzman 2013-05-30 4:50 PM

2013-06-01 7:52 AM
in reply to: ShaneSchwarzman

User image

Expert
Subject: RE: Question about my Tri/Adventure Race Training Plan
You might have more luck with getting a reply if you posted this on the tri-talk forum. The Athena Clydesdale forum is for us bigger athletes (it used to be females over 150 and males over 200, but USAT changed the weight limits last year and I can't remember what they are (I'm Canadian and we don't have the weight classes here anymore).

The information posted below is good - but we need to know what distance you are training for. Also, are you planning on doing the adventure racing solo or as part of a team?