General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Another Really Dumb Bike Question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-07-06 12:24 AM

New user

Alberta
Subject: Another Really Dumb Bike Question
My friend & I went to spin class today. After class, I was griping about my knees a bit. She said she thought I was pointing my toes down too much when I pedal & maybe that's the problem. I'm totally new to biking, but at the bike store the guy told me to pedal with toes pointed down? Thoughts?

2004-07-06 12:40 AM
in reply to: #35476

User image

Extreme Veteran
Edmonton, Alberta
Subject: RE: Another Really Dumb Bike Question
Hello ABBAgirl,

I am not sure why you would ride with a toe point that does not seem to me to be an efficient pedal stroke.

I am sorry but I have to ask where in alberta are you from as you can see I am from Edmonton, it is nice to see another from this area.

Roy
2004-07-06 12:50 AM

New user

Alberta
Hi Roy. I'm in Edmonton as well. Unfortunately, I'm really a novice (as you can probably tell from my question!) so I won't be much use despite proximity....
2004-07-06 12:58 AM

User image

Expert
Durham, CA
Don't know about pointing your toes - I just put the pedal on the balls of my feet and go for it - never really thought about how my toes were pointing. If you just started spinning/riding, that is probably the issue - start slow, and gradually build your milage. My knees really hurt me when I first started, but now they do not bother me at all unless I abuse them.

Good luck,

Dennis
2004-07-06 1:18 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Edmonton, Alberta
Wow, another from here that is great well if you want to see the proper pedal stroke go down to Horlack Park and you will get to see some great Tri action this weekend.

The World Cup ITU race this coming weekend and there will be some great racers there, I am racing as well but only in the Try a Tri but racing just the same.