General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Trek Lexa SL bike: compact or triple crank? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-07-15 4:56 PM

Subject: Trek Lexa SL bike: compact or triple crank?
I am a beginner road biker. I have completed two sprint tris and am doing my first olympic in a month. I have been training on my old mountain bike and on sat did a sprint tri on a borrowed road bike that was way too small. I am definitely ready to get my own road bike.

I am looking at the Trek Lexa SL and realized it comes in the compact or triple crank. From what I understand, the triple is better for hilly areas, but not as smooth/good at gear changes? I do live in a hilly area (in Canada near Rocky Mountains/foothills), so I am wondering which is best for me?

I am about 5'7, 125 pounds and getting a 52 cm bike (yes I've been fitted) if this makes a difference. Thanks!

2013-07-15 5:42 PM
in reply to: iluvry

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: Trek Lexa SL bike: compact or triple crank?

there's a reason why no decent road bike has a triple crank.  Because they're annoying to deal with and shift.  Get a compact. If you need more of a climbing gear, then get a wider spread cassette.  instead of the 11-25 it comes with, move to an 11-28, or 32.

If you need a smaller gear than that- then choose a route that has milder hills.  Oh, and get stronger on the bike

2013-07-15 6:34 PM
in reply to: morey000

Curious, why do they make road bikes with the triple crank then? My local bike shop says most of the road bikes they sell are triple crank in our area.
Not disagreeing with the previous poster, just would like more feedback.
2013-07-15 9:37 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Pro

Originally posted by iluvry Curious, why do they make road bikes with the triple crank then? My local bike shop says most of the road bikes they sell are triple crank in our area. ...

Because most bike purchases aren't to wacko's like us.

ride one.  then give me your opinion. 

they're for: