General Discussion Triathlon Talk » volume vs. intensity Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-07-21 3:05 PM

Subject: volume vs. intensity
I am new to the sport of triathlon, although not new to running, swimming, and exercise in general. One thing I'm a little confused about is the idea of keeping within certain zones, like the endurance zone, threshold zone, etc. I've always thought about things in terms of distance vs. time - go a certain distance as fast as you can, or go as far as you can at a certain speed. Is this not true in training for a triathlon? Is it really better to run 5 miles in 40 minutes than in 35, because you spend 5 more minutes exercising, even though it is easier? I don't know, it just seems unnatural to me, having spent years not looking at training in this way.

2006-07-21 3:12 PM
in reply to: #489668

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: volume vs. intensity

Depends on what you're trying to accomplish, but the basic tenet is that first you go far, then you go fast, or, alternatively, if you're going to build a house, first you build a solid foundation.

A good place for anyone to start is the Triathlete's Training Bible by Joe Friel which will enlighten you on such concepts as base building and periodization. Others on here will chime in with helpful advice, Joel for instance has written a couple of mini-articles disguised as threads, like this one Still need a long run?

Edited by the bear 2006-07-21 3:13 PM
2006-07-21 3:19 PM

User image

Runner
I think you're talking about Heartrate Training Zones. If you don't use a HR monitor, it doesn't much matter. Although, people will tell you could use RPE (Rate of Perceived Exertion) as well.

I'm like you, I've never used either for any sort of training. I have always gone by distance and / or time. It's just another tool that works for people, but I don't see it as being the end-all be-all of training methods.
2006-07-21 3:20 PM