General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Strength Training for Swimming Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-07-06 10:07 PM

New user

Subject: Strength Training for Swimming
Hi - I'm looking for more improvement in my swimming and being quite new I'm thinking I need to do some weight training to develop balanced upper body strength.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what to do or what not to do!

THanks

2004-07-06 11:43 PM
in reply to: #35679

User image

Elite
Reno
Subject: RE: Strength Training for Swimming
I am not an expert on weight training, but have found that core body work (abs and lower back) have greatly increased my swimming power. Try Pilates if you are looking for a formal class.
2004-07-07 9:36 AM
in reply to: #35703

User image

Expert
Missouri
Bootygirl is right, core body work is the best. Weights are good for swimming but only as a supplement. If you really want to get better at swimming, work on your stroke. Stroke efficieny is the main thing to swimming. . . That is why people that can run marathons and ride bikes all day long have problems in the pool, not because they are out of shape but because their stroke is crap (no offense to anyone). So if you want to get better:

1) Spend time in the pool. Remember it is not quantity it is quality
2) Work on your stroke and then on your distance.
3) After you feel comfortable in the water and can do a good amount of yardage, then focus on weights that work on back, shoulders with other upper body thrown in.

Swimming itself is a great way to build muscle and it strengthens you up. . . Also, instead of weights, you can do exercises that actually force you to move your body around. Examples: Pushups, tri dips, pull ups, crunches. Basically those exercises that make you move your on weight around, this strengthens you without adding too much bulk.
Hope this helps.
2004-07-07 10:51 AM

Veteran
Northern IL