General Discussion Triathlon Talk » heel spur question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-07-24 12:25 PM

User image

Regular
Subject: heel spur question
I think I have the beginnings of a calcaneul heel spur judging by some of the symptoms I have seen online. I stopped running soon enough where I don't think it is too serious. I blame it on poor stretching and early morning running. Any of you had these? How long should I wait befor trying to run again? For now I am stretching a couple times a day? Any other input would be appreciated.
Thanks
C

2006-07-24 12:41 PM
in reply to: #491227

User image

Expert
Spokane, Washington
Subject: RE: heel spur question

Isn't a heel spur like a piece of bone that sticks out?  I don't think they heal up.  I have one of those on my heel that is very painful when I flex my foot while running.  I notice it mostly when I'm going up hill.  I've been running with it for a couple of years now, and all I do differently is to be sure that my footstrike is mid-foot or slightly to the front.  I run up hills slightly on my toes to avoid the 'zing' I get if I don't. 

Good luck with it, I'll be looking forward to leveraging to any other replies you get to this question.

2006-07-24 12:58 PM

User image

Master
Rochester, NY
Based on my own battle with plantar fasciitis and conversations with my podiatrist, here is what I know.

Heal spurs are related to the plantar fascia. If/when the pf get overstretched and pulls away from the heal bone, the body tried to compensate by building tissue between the bone and the fascia. This tissue is known as a heal spur and it shows up on an xray looking like a spur.

I'd strongly recommend going to see a podiatrist if you suspect that you have heal spurs.

Good luck.
2006-07-24 4:25 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
northeast Ohio