General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Newbie Reality Check Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-07-27 10:34 AM

Subject: Newbie Reality Check
I need a reality check. I'm 36 years old, 6'1", 280 lbs - clearly overweight but pretty solidly built. I've been working out regularly since my son was born in November (8 months) - mostly lifting weights but also doing some light cardio in the gym - eliptical trainer, bike, treadmill. I just decided yesterday that I was going to start training for my first sprint triathlon but I need some input to help me determine if I'm crazy.

Here's some background.

Many years ago I was a pretty good athlete. I played college and men's rugby so I have a lot of experience with conditioning. I've run approximately five 10k's but they were all at least 10 years and 50 pounds ago. I was a life guard in high school and college so I had good swimming skills, but haven't done anything in the water but body surf since then. And I've always been comfortable on a bike, but again, I haven't spent any significant time on a bike in a very long time.

I ran outside yesterday for the first time in quite a while. I walked 1/2 mile to warm up, ran 1 mile without stopping, and then walked 1/2 mile to cool down. It felt good, but my legs were a little wobbly afterwards and are sore today.

That all being said, I have plenty of confidence that I can I can do this (maybe too much confidence). My question is how long should I give myself to train before I attempt my first Sprint? I'm looking at some races in October (10-12 weeks) and want to know if this is realistic or if I'm being overly abitious.

How long did it take you to train for your first race? What kind of condition were you in when you started?

Thanks for your input. Please be brutally honest. You're not going to hurt my feelings.

2006-07-27 10:40 AM
in reply to: #494828

User image

Master
Athens, Ga.
Subject: RE: Newbie Reality Check