General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Winter training tips for Vermont? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-10-15 9:41 AM

User image

Subject: Winter training tips for Vermont?
Hi anyone who is still out there! I'm a newbie- working on training towards my first tri next summer. Any suggestions for surviving the VT winter and still keep training? Especially the biking part?

2013-10-15 7:19 PM
in reply to: el penguino

User image

Expert
, New Hampshire
Subject: RE: Winter training tips for Vermont?
I try to run as much as I can outdoors when there's not a lot of ice or snow on the road. It's totally doable, just try to pick routes that are away from traffic because with the snow piled up on the sides of the roads, there's very little room for cars to go around you. There's also the opportunity to cross train with sc skiing and snowshoeing. I just have regular snow shoes but a friend of mine who is a very competitive runner, has run specific snowshoes. He loves it in the winter, and come spring, he feels blisteringly fast on normal pavement!

I do a lot of masters swimming through the winter season. As for the bike, I've yet to ride through a winter. There's not a lot of room on the roads for a bike, but what's more concerning is that drivers are not looking/expecting cyclists, so it can be hairy depending on where you live. There's not a lot or no shoulder at all where I live, so biking is too risky. It's the trainer for me, unless there's not must snow!

Remember, this is Vermont. There's no such thing as cold, just underdressed!!
2013-10-16 3:49 AM
in reply to: GreenMtnLabbit

User image

I love that- " There's no such thing as cold, just underdressed!!"