General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ladies, I need advice (Guys, you may want to stay out) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-07-30 6:46 PM
in reply to: #497608

Subject: RE: Ladies, I need advice (Guys, you may want to stay out)
I'm not a doctor, but first thing that came to mind is to ask if your body fat is too low? Is there a chance that you are underweight at all?

2006-07-31 9:54 PM

User image

Regular
, Oklahoma
Are you having any other symptoms? Tired, always cold, losing hair, or anything else that is abnormal. For your height, 96lbs isn't bad, but I would be careful. It may be low enough to cause some problems. I had a similar experience, but it was before I really started training, and found out it was due to my thyroid being too low. A lot of other things can cause these types of problems, but the first ones that come to mind is weight (low, high, or rapid change), intense exercise (this one's debatable), and hypothyroid. I hope you can figure out what's going on. I know it can be frustrating.
2006-08-01 6:17 AM

User image

Regular
, Oklahoma
You might look into getting your thryoid checked, then. The tiredness may be due to how much you're exercising, but it can also be due to hypothyroidism, especially with the menstrual irregularities. That's pretty much how mine started with the intolerance to cold added in along the way. Let me know if you have any more questions.
2006-08-01 7:30 AM
in reply to: #499018

User image

The Original
Raleigh/Durham

btchance - 2006-08-01 7:17 AM You might look into getting your thryoid checked, then. The tiredness may be due to how much you're exercising, but it can also be due to hypothyroidism, especially with the menstrual irregularities. That's pretty much how mine started with the intolerance to cold added in along the way. Let me know if you have any more questions.

I also have thyroid problems.  But hypothyroidism is notorious for causing abnormal weight gain.