General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Geting fit to be triathlon fit. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-11-13 8:30 PM

Subject: Geting fit to be triathlon fit.
I'm nearly at that stage. I am running 5x a week, cycling 5x a week ( The pool work is in development )
I am doing a lot of gym work and am enjoying the sight of people 20yrs my junior not having the same endurance levels as me.

I should be ready in my personal mind at the end of December to train for a triathlon. But how? No one ever tells you that part if you're a complete beginner like me and have no programme or structure to rely on.

Do I keep up what I'm doing, up the intensity or start a whole new learning curve?

So advice would be great from experienced triathletes. Sure no one person's body and mind will be the same, but I'm sure there is a whole core of stuff that a beginner like me would find really useful to prepare my body for what I'm planning to be my 1st race in the late summer of 2014.

2013-11-13 8:53 PM
in reply to: saint100

User image

, New York
Subject: RE: Geting fit to be triathlon fit.
Do you have an idea of what kind of race you want to do? sprint? oly? How long are each part? where is it? If you are doing 5x running and 5x biking (for how long?) then you are definitely ready except for the swimming. I did a self planned triathlon training that started in January of last year in brief it was two months of heavy running followed by two months of heavy cycling finishing with two months of heavy swimming. (I shouldve done swimming first). I did my first tri at 500 m swim with an 8 mile bike and a 3.5 mile run. Finishing in an hour and nine. The swimming was the hardest but I was prepared for it. The rest was more than fine. It was a huge learning curve even though I tried to prepare myself for the small nuances.
2013-11-13 8:54 PM

Consider reading the Triathlete's Training Bible. Sounds like you are already well on your way. Good luck.
2013-11-13 11:48 PM