General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Just starting running and it hurts my shins! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-08-01 11:24 PM

User image

Master
West Jordan, UT
Subject: Just starting running and it hurts my shins!
I am very new to running. Okay I have only done it maybe 4 times this year. When I run more than 1/4 mile my shins start killing me enough that I take a walk break. Is it just something I need to work through? I keep getting worried if I don't stop I am going to hose up my shins and I won't be able to bike (which is the only thing I am half good at right now!). Should I just keep running until I am out of breath, or should I take walk breaks when I feel my shins killing? I am still kinda heavy, so I am sure that has something to do with it.

2006-08-02 12:00 AM
in reply to: #500103

User image

Extreme Veteran
Tucson, AZ
Subject: RE: Just starting running and it hurts my shins!

It most likely has to do with how you run.  If you can get someone to watch you run and knows good form that would be ideal.  From my limited experience it sounds like you are heel-striking.  meaning on the return of the leg to the forward postition you bring it too far forward and land on the heel.  you should only bring it back forward eoungh to bring the leg back underneath your body and land on the toe. 

A good warm-up and stretch can help with shin splints before a run also.  CoolRunning.com has a good stretch lay-out here.  Try the stretches, work on your form and the splints should go away gradually.

2006-08-02 4:08 AM

User image

Kennesaw GA