General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Mountain Bike vs Race Bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-08-06 4:07 PM

Subject: Mountain Bike vs Race Bike
Hi all-

I'm a newbie in the world of tris... just did my very first sprint tri yesterday and am doing an olympic in Sept.

I don't currently have a racing bike so I've been training on a mountain bike all summer and on the stationary bike at the gym for my bike training days. I did the sprint yesterday on my mountain bike and it was hard!! It was a hilly course, and I wasn't very pleased w/ my time.

When I do the oly in Sept. I will have a racing bike that a friend is going to lend me to do the event.

Everyone says it is sooo much easier to do the rides on a racing bike.. I guess I need some encouragement that this is really true. Is it? I was somewhat humbled by how much the bike killed me yesterday, yet my swim and my run went extremely well.

Should I continue to train on my mountain bike so that I build up my stamina this last month before the event, or should I switch over to the racing bike right away??

Thanks in advance, Lynn M.

2006-08-06 4:29 PM
in reply to: #503490

Extreme Veteran
Atlanta, GA
Subject: RE: Mountain Bike vs Race Bike
A road bike definitely makes a huge difference. Don't be too down on your bike time, just remember you road a mountain bike. I hope you enjoy the ride in September on a "racing" bike. If you plan on sticking with triathlons, try to find the money to purchase a road or tri bike because it makes a huge difference and you won't be discouraged by the mountain bike.
BTW, congrats on your first tri!
2006-08-06 4:59 PM

User image

Pro
Los Angeles, CA
I rode a MTB for my first sprint and oly. I then switched to a tri bike for my 1/2. Don't get discouranged, many people use mtb for their first. Actually, I saw someone ride a cruiser beach bike on my sprint.