General Discussion Triathlon Talk » From running to Triathlon training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-27 5:30 AM

User image

Subject: From running to Triathlon training

I have been running for about 18 months now and completed my first marathon this May (04:14:27). My next goal is still a marathon (sub 4 I hope) and only aim for half IM in 2016. But, I want to start building up my capabilities in bike and swim.

My question is, while I was training for the marathon I ran 5 days a week. Now I want to keep that ability and also add on bike and swim, so obviously that means less running, or does it? How does the training add up in terms of days? If I swim/run/bike 2 days each in a week (with 1 day off) that sort of sounds, well, not here and not there. Again at the moment my goal for Feb 2015 is a sub 4 marathon but I want to build endurance and ability on the bike/swim.

Thanks for your pointers and advice!

2014-07-27 1:31 PM
in reply to: #5030965

Subject: RE: From running to Triathlon training
This is my first season of triathlon, but most of us - especially those who are training for HIM/IM distances - do more than one of s/b/r at least a few days a week. I do a long and sometimes a medium standalone run, and then short runs on the same day as a swim or bike. Some run 5-6 days a week on top of the other two disciplines. It just depends what you have time for and what goals you're reaching for.
2014-07-27 4:26 PM
in reply to: aribloch

User image

Iowa City, Iowa
Originally posted by aribloch

I have been running for about 18 months now and completed my first marathon this May (04:14:27). My next goal is still a marathon (sub 4 I hope) and only aim for half IM in 2016. But, I want to start building up my capabilities in bike and swim.