General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Considering a new challenge Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-17 5:17 PM

User image

Subject: Considering a new challenge
Just thought I'd take a second to introduce myself. My name is Julie, I'm about to turn 35 and my husband tells me after every one of my runs that I'm a little nuts. I've never done a triathlon but I said I was going to do one this year (The Riding Mountain Triathlon) and then I wimped out. After watching the people coming in for a bit and seeing the kiddos that can get themselves motivated to do this I have decided that I don't have any excuses and that I should try to accept this challenge for next year. That being said, I'm now terrified! I have no idea what to expect or how to train. My access to water is pretty limited until lake season hits but I'm not afraid of open water. Currently, I run on a regular basis, dance about 15 hours a week (I'm a high school dance teacher), have started practicing hot yoga and in the summer it's pretty common to find me swimming across the lake where our cottage is in Ontario. My most comfortable stroke is the breast stroke but that's mainly so I can see where I'm going and keep the water out of my contacts. I don't tend to consider myself an athletic person which is part of the reason I'm nervous about actually committing to challenging myself to do the triathlon next year! I'm happy to accept any pointers and words of wisdom so I don't wimp out...again!

Edited by dramaqueenjs 2014-08-17 5:33 PM

2014-08-19 10:40 AM
in reply to: dramaqueenjs

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: Considering a new challenge

Hi Julie, welcome to BT and triathlon!

You can totally do this. The training programs here are good. If you have no access to water, try swim cords: more at http://www.sheilat.com

New Thread
General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Considering a new challenge Rss Feed  
RELATED POSTS

new year new challenge