General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Another newb Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-07 1:08 AM

User image

Subject: Another newb
HI. My name is Sam and I'm a rookie. So green I glow.

I look at all the posts on here and struggle to write that I'm from the opposite side of the spectrum. I've always been the skinny kid. 6'3" - 145lbs. That was my weight in April. Stress kills my appetite, my metabolism eats my body... I watched the Boulder Ironman this year and became inspired. I will be an Ironman. I'm already registered for the Boulder Sprint Ironman next June and am trying to plan the Muncie 70.3 into my schedule for next summer. That being said, I'm already back to a healthier weight of 170lbs, thanks to a quality gym membership, and training 15-20 hours a week.

I live in Boulder, CO and i'm going through a divorce. My training has given me something to focus on and a goal to achieve. I have 2 beautiful daughters that I miss terribly.

Since high school I haven't played any organized sports or done anything competitive, save for finally running the BolderBoulder 10k this year and last. Last year I ran my heart out to prove a point and I ran a 56:29. That was my first ever timed running event. The first time since my junior year of high school I had intentionally run more than 2 consecutive miles. I was a smoker. This year I had fun, and started enjoying libations just past the first mile. I was DRUNK by the time I finished. And if anyone was there this year and remembers the Guy by the feildhouse giving away extra beer tickets, that was me. My community service... I quite smoking(Cigarettes & Weed) the day after the Boulder Ironman.

I'm originally from SW Ohio. Go Tribe! Go Browns! Go Cavs! Go Pens! I've been in Boulder now for 7 years.