General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Indoor Tri/ Tri training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-09 6:23 AM

User image

Expert
Central New Jersey
Subject: Indoor Tri/ Tri training
I am going to talk to my gym today (it has a pool) about starting a triathlon training program and/or possibly hosting an indoor tri (I am a USAT coach with 8 years experience in the sport) - any thoughts/tips/suggestions

what would you like in a program like this?
what have you seen that worked/didn't work?
what would encourage you to participate?

thanks!

Lani

2014-10-09 6:29 AM
in reply to: wwlani

User image

Subject: RE: Indoor Tri/ Tri training
Originally posted by wwlani

I am going to talk to my gym today (it has a pool) about starting a triathlon training program and/or possibly hosting an indoor tri (I am a USAT coach with 8 years experience in the sport) - any thoughts/tips/suggestions

what would you like in a program like this?
what have you seen that worked/didn't work?
what would encourage you to participate?

thanks!

Lani

I did an indoor tri a couple of years ago up in PA - we flipped things a bit - did the bike first on spin bikes; then the swim; then the run - all segments were time based, rather than distance - so it was most distance on bike, most laps on track/pool for run/swim and then they calculated the winner based on that
2014-10-09 9:00 AM
in reply to: wwlani

Subject: RE: Indoor Tri/ Tri training
Does your gym frequently have classes? If so I think this has potential. Does the gym already offer adult swim practice either master an adult fitness swimming (not to be confused with lessons or aerobics)? If yes you probably have some over lap. As far as the class do you want it to be a triathlon 101 type or do you want it to be an off season training for existing triathletes? Either works but it is a different sales pitch and a different program.