General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Shoes, Pedals and clips?? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-08-21 11:36 AM

User image

Veteran
Concord, CA
Subject: Bike Shoes, Pedals and clips??
Hello,

I'm very new to the sport and I was wondering if you could help me.

What's the process to buy bike shoes and pedals? Do you 1st choose shoes and then the pedals that "fit" them? Do the shoes come with the clips? because the shoes pictures just seem to have holes "there"...

Any help will be welcome

Isaac

2006-08-21 12:11 PM
in reply to: #517493

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL
Subject: RE: Bike Shoes, Pedals and clips??

The cleats normally come with the pedals, but can also be purchased separately.  Bike shoes have a variety of holes and slots to make them compatible with the more common types of cleats.  Sometimes an adapter plate can be used to work with less common styles of cleats. 

I would definitely pick a style of pedal first, then the shoes.  I started out with SPD pedals and cleats, mostly because they were the cheapest least expensive.  They were okay for learning to ride clipless pedals, but I always seemed to have problems with "hot spots" developing on long rides, which I attributed to the small contact area of that style cleat.

In the past year I've "upgraded" to Shimano SPD-SL's which have a larger contact area and are similar to design to the Look pedals.  Like them a whole lot better and  find them a lot easier to clip into than the old SPD's.  Shimano makes two models of SPD-SL cleats: yellow with 60 of float and red with 00 float.  I use the yellow.  

I know a lot of people who swear by Speedplay pedals also, but I have no personal experience with them.

HTH,

Mark

2006-08-21 2:01 PM

User image

Veteran
Concord, CA
Thank you Mark,

I have a clearer picture on what to look for.

Isaac
2006-08-21 3:45 PM
in reply to: #517689

User image

Elite
Preferably on my bike somewhere