General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training in Europe (Munich, Zurich, Paris) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-02-10 3:05 AM

New user

Subject: Training in Europe (Munich, Zurich, Paris)
Hello,

I am heading to Munich, Zurich, and Paris in from May 6 till May 18. I am in the midst of preparing my HIM which will be on 14 June. Is there any place that I can continue my training while I am there. So far, I am looking at the following plan:-

Can someone please kindly advise me where I can train? In Munich, I know I can do my running in English Garden and swimming in Olympic Stadium. Is there any lake in Munich that I can swim?

In Zurich, can I swim in Lake Zurich?

In Paris, can I rent a road bike to train my cycling?

Apologies for the basic question, but I am from South East Asia and this is my first time in Europe.

Any help and advise is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Regards

Malik

2015-02-10 10:14 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Groningen, Netherlands
Subject: RE: Training in Europe (Munich, Zurich, Paris)
Hi Malik,

I will do Ironman Zurich in July this year so I was curious to see if swimming in the Zurichsee is possible or not, so I attempted to find out. First of all, here is a list of all the swimmingpools in the Zurich area, with a nice handy map:

https://www.stadt-zuerich.ch/ssd/de/index/sport/schwimmen.html

A "Hallenbad" is a covered pool, and a "freibad" is an open air pool and will probably open around the time you plan to visit Europe, in May. Specifically Mythenquai, which is very close to the Landiwiese in Zurich where the Ironman swim starts, that pool opens om May 9, as do most open pools in kanton Zurich. I am sure that is somewhat subject to weather conditions though. Each "bad" has some info though, so check that out.