General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New to Tri's and Wandering How to Balance Work and Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-08-25 2:29 PM

Subject: New to Tri's and Wandering How to Balance Work and Training
I am a teacher/coach at a Texas high school. I coach high school football in the Fall, which is very time consuming. We work seven days a week with about 70-80 hours a week for about 4 months. I teach baseball in the Spring which lasts about 3 1/2 months and I teach World History. I love my job but I really think that after doing this job for six years I needed to find something for me to do that benefited just me. I have been training for about a month, football and school started about two weeks ago. Suprisingly I have been able to maintain my workout schedule thus far, but I am curious as to what types of careers other triathletes have. I am going to keep training regardless of my work schedule because I feel that I have become a new man, a better husband and father with just taking as little as 30 minutes a day for just me. So I guess that this is why so many women and men are doing triathlons for the challenge and the satisfaction.

2006-08-25 2:31 PM
in reply to: #522215

User image

Elite
West Chicago, IL
Subject: RE: New to Tri's and Wandering How to Balance Work and Training
If you figure out this balance thing, please let me know. All of a sudden, I'm either training, fixin' to train, finishing training or washing clothes to train in. Where did all the time go?

Welcome to BT ... and good luck reaching your goals!!!!
2006-08-25 2:42 PM

Master
Charlotte, NC

Less work... more training...

I work the typical 9-5 banking hours, so I'm lucky enough to fit my workouts into the mornings and weekends.