General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New to Triathlon living in UK Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-05-10 3:02 AM

Subject: New to Triathlon living in UK
Hi everyone, I am Emma, 45 and never done a triathlon.I was just after some inspiration really. I'm totally new to all this, triathlon stuff, well exercise in general really, and reading this Im not sure what on earth has possessed me to even think I can complete one. I'm not that fit and don't know if Im too late to start training?
Any advice would be grateful.

Edited by Emmajd 2015-05-10 3:04 AM

2015-05-10 9:27 PM
in reply to: Emmajd

User image

Extreme Veteran
Penticton, BC
Subject: RE: New to Triathlon living in UK

Hi Emma, and welcome to BT.  You will find this site to be inspirational and supportive.  I've been on BT for a while and I'm always amazed at how helpful everyone is.

Don't be afraid to train and race.  There is a lot to learn but it is something you can definitely do.  I'm considerably older than you and I only started exercising - Yikes! - four years ago.  Yesterday, I found myself cycling up a local mountain and on the way up I was passed by a 78 yr old Brit expat that was out for a 100km ride.  After my 3:30 ride I got off the bike and ran for a short while.  I'm not bragging but I didn't start any of this until I was in my 60's.  You just need to get some good advice and have fun - but keep at it.