General Discussion Triathlon Talk » newbie dream: want to qualify for worlds! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-07-07 9:18 PM

User image

Subject: newbie dream: want to qualify for worlds!
Ok, confession, this is my second year so maybe I'm jumping my gun on this one, but man, I want to qualify for AG Worlds. To some, maybe the AG Nationals is lame, but it's my first time going and I'm terrified, excited, determined... I'm a mixture! But I am just getting over an upper respiratory infection which really set me back!!!

Will you share your stories to me about your experience at Nationals!? How did you do!? Did you PR!? How did you feel!? I want to get amped because right now I'm terrified and kinda frustrated on how fast a cold can knock your training down. I went for a run today and usually I go comfortably at 8min/mile for 4+ miles... Today it was 9min/mile and I walked/coughed after 2.5 miles... then ran another 1.5 miles at a 9:30min/mile.

2015-07-07 9:42 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: newbie dream: want to qualify for worlds!

It's fast.

Plus....only about 1/2 of the world spots are available this year......the rest will be doled out in a draft legal race in Nov.

Edited by Left Brain 2015-07-07 10:00 PM
2015-07-07 10:01 PM
in reply to: #5127337

User image

I know. Ugh. I looked at last year's times and 2013!!!

When I'm racing my avg run pace is 7:20... But I have to break 7!!! I look at it and think, I can totally do it, but then I go on a training run and it's terrible.

Leftbrain, is it possible to hit a 20 min 5k from my avg 23minutes in 5 weeks!!? Probably not...Ugh. I kinda don't want to go because I am certain I'm gonna get my arse handed to me. :/
2015-07-07 10:22 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Pro