General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Weak leg after spraining ankle Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-08-04 8:15 AM

Sarasota, Florida
Subject: Weak leg after spraining ankle
About 10 years ago I fell off a second story while horsing around with some friends and sprained my ankle. I drove myself to the emergency room, waited 13 hours and was never seen due to triage. That ankle had a dull ache for years but has held up and the pain eventually went away.

However, that foot is noticeably loose. If I relax, it just kind of flops to one side or the other and I have to consciously control its placement while running to avoid pronating or supinating . I also noticed that calf muscle lost mass and is slightly thinner. As a result, I notice this leg feels weaker and often fatigues, cramps, and requires extra stretching. Basically, it has become my weak point and holds me back but has held up fine through many 10ks with no further injury.

Since I started training for my first tri, this leg has been acting up a little more. I notice the fatigue and pain from my hamstring all the way down to the ankle, and I usually eat bananas or take a spoonful of mustard to keep me going, but one leg is eagerly saying "give me more!" while the other is saying "just slow down!"

I'm hoping it will strengthen, but it seems the more I train, the more it acts up. It's frustrating because I feel like my other leg is getting stronger while this one is getting weaker. Has anyone ever heard of anything like this? How did you cope?

Edited by runtim23 2015-08-04 8:15 AM

2015-08-05 1:48 AM
in reply to: runtim23

User image

Subject: RE: Weak leg after spraining ankle