General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Yet another newbie - almost.... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-12-15 3:54 AM

User image

Expert
England
Subject: Yet another newbie - almost....
Hi All

I'm a newbie really - I did a corporate sprint tri event about 5 years ago and nearly killed myself as i didn't really train for it (I hadn't even been in the pool for a year before that first dive in - not clever I know... )

I'm now committed to a sprint tri in England on 2nd May 04 and planning my training and kit etc. I've been regularly running for a couple of years so have reasonable running endurance. Haven't ridden my bike in 2 years and have only recently started swimming again so am going to properly train and plan this time!!!

Anybody help me with some goals - like a reasonable time to aim for? The race is 400m pool swim/20km cycle/5km run. I feel comfortable with completing it but need something more specific and challenging to keep the motivation going until May. I tend to be a bit of a slow plodder on the road and in the pool so need something to drive me towards some speed work when I get a more solid base of endurance.

I look forward to your suggestions and learning from your experiences :-)

"Your past is not your potential......."

2003-12-15 8:48 AM
in reply to: #2514

User image

Expert
Rockledge, Fl
Subject: RE: Yet another newbie - almost....
Welcome aboard! As far as time goals, each race is different with distances and conditions. For instance, since I am from Florida, my races will be flat (except for over causeways) and a race in the mountains would have much different times. Take a look at the previous race results for that race and shoot for middle of the pack.
2003-12-16 9:38 PM

User image

Champion
Gold member