General Discussion Triathlon Talk » The swim in your first triathlon (sprint) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-02-26 9:34 PM

Subject: The swim in your first triathlon (sprint)
Hi All,

Great forum - happy to be here. I recently committed to doing my first triathlon, sprint distance. I have some background running, with a little cycling mixed in for cross-training. To give you an idea of my past/current fitness, here it is:

Past
-2014 - ran 42:50 in the 10km, and 19:52 in the 5 km
-2014 - peaked at around 40-50 miles per week
-since then I've just run (and cycled) casually to stay healthy

Current
-2 months ago I ran 12km in 60 minutes - this was reasonably difficult, though not race pace (on an indoor track FWIW)

Goal: to complete a sprint triathlon in August (750m swim, 20km bike, 5km run). My first objective is to safely complete the event, and enjoy it.

I've committed to swimming twice weekly until then. My first experience with the swim was disastrous, as I suspect it is for many first time swimmers. I haven't swam lengths for exercise in my life, period (I don't count swimming lessons as a child). I've joined a coached swimming conditioning camp which I will participate in 1x week, and will swim on my own 1x more per week.

My 4th swim today, took me 43 minutes to swim 750m, freestyle. Each time I've swam I've moved in the right direction, but my gosh it seems like I have a long way to go.

I believe I can get my training up to 6 hours per week for this, mostly zone 2ish type training. (planning on doing a schedule like this)
-maintenance mileage
- +10%
- +10%
- -25%
-repeat

Two questions:
1) Do beginner triathletes front crawl/freestyle the whole event? Do they stop to rest?
2) What kind of improvements do you think I can make, knowing my current running fitness level and past level?
3) Broadly speaking, any thing I should check out? Or do you have any other thoughts?