General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bonking during run Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-09-21 11:21 AM

User image

Jupiter, FL
Subject: Bonking during run
I've been training for three to four months and have done one Sprint. The runs are killing me. I've always had a problem with bonking out around the 30 minute / 3 mile mark. I can swim or bike for alot longer than this. I'm hoping some experienced members can help me out.

Some info about where I train. I'm in S. Florida and usually run around 6pm. Temps are in the mid to high 80s. Humidity is around 90%+. I also seem to have problems when I run in the morning after I swim.

I eat a Snickers Marathon Energy Bar (220 calories) 1 - 1 1/2 hours before I start. I also drink a cup of gatorade endurance with the extra sodium and enough water to hydrate myself (50 calories).

At about 2.5 miles, I start to get very weak. I have to force myself to finish it out. Yesterday was terrible. I did a jog at the beach. I ran at the waters edge barefoot and completely lost energy after 18 minutes or so. It was rediculous. I walked a bit and then forced myself to make the 1.4 miles back to the car. I don't understand what the heck is happening. I've been averaging 10-12 miles per week.

I eat plenty of carbs and protein to fuel myself. Heck, i've been so hungry lately that I've even gained a few pounds since my last tri.

I think that this might be related to hydration since its so freaking hot and humid down here. I wear running specific clothing that "wicks" away the sweat, but with the humidity being so high, it really has no where to go. Yet I get cramps when I drink when running.

I'd hate to think its a mental thing.

Any ideas or help would be very appreciated.

2006-09-21 11:39 AM
in reply to: #547910

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: Bonking during run