General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swimming endurance? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-07-29 10:35 AM

User image

Veteran
WATERTOWN, WISCONSIN
Subject: swimming endurance?
I've been training for about three weeks now for a sprint tri mid-september. I've been riding the bike about 15 miles 3x a week with no problem. I can run the 3.1 miles without 'too' much strain. BUT I cannot get my endurance in the swimming portion... i'm tired after 200-300m in the pool. Any suggestion on how to build up endurance during the swim? thanks.

2004-07-29 10:42 AM
in reply to: #41496

User image

Expert
Northern VA
Subject: RE: swimming endurance?
I know people are gonna think I'm a salesman for TI (I'm NOT). But Total Immersion really worked for me. I STRUGGLED mightily with the swim, dreading that workout. Workin my ass off in the pool, going anaerobic while swimming slow.

The book/DVD helped me swim faster (OK - less slow) and with much, much less effort. I'm barely breathing hard after a one mile swim. Maybe it doesn't work for some people, but for me it was the best $65 I've spent in this sport.

Gary
2004-07-29 10:49 AM

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Not to completely endorse the TI program (I am reading the book, but have no practical experience), but I am experiencing the same thing as you, and I'm convinced that it's technique, not endurance, that is our problem. I'm training for my tenth marathon, just clocked my fastest ever 20-mile time trial on the bike, and still have to switch to the breast stroke every fifty yards or so just to catch my breath.
2004-07-29 10:56 AM

User image

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
I found that it takes me about 300 yds to warm up - I start with 2x25, then 3x 50, then 2x 100, AND THEN I'm able to keep going nonstop.  I learned a lesson in my last tri - I did not warm up by getting in the water, and my swim time showed it!  I had to keep floating to catch my breath. 
2004-07-29 11:52 AM