General Discussion Triathlon Talk » question on changing body "type" Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-10-19 9:17 AM

Regular
TX
Subject: question on changing body "type"
HI, I am a newbie here. A little about me. 41 years old, always been an "athlete" but never an endurance athlete. (Baseball, football, golf, weight lifting) I am 6'3", 250 currently, and although I am definitely quite overweight, I am not a couch potato. I have always stayed active and been a long-time weight lifter, so I have quite a bit of muscle mass. I am intrigued about this "triathlon thing" and am currently in week 7 of the 22 week program to get ready for the Sprint. I have plans to do my first one in March or April '07. I don't really want to be a "Clydesdale" and would prefer to get in the 190 lb range and be LEAN.

My question is, have any of you totally changed your body "type" from where I am, to a very lean endurance athlete? I know it won't happen overnight, but I am interested to hear from someone with a similar background. I have enjoyed the workouts, although the walk/jog is getting more difficult and a fat boy on a bike does not work well on steep hills (Ha). Swim is definitely my best event. Any advice about nutrition, etc to change body type? I have gone to lifting only once a week and am following the 22 week program religiously. In 6 weeks I have virtually lost no weight and I am not eating any more than I was before. I know I eat too much, but after swimming and biking I am HUNGRY!!

Anyway, I know that was a lot of rambling, but any suggestions? Thanks in advance. I am enjoying the workouts and enjoy reading the forum.

2006-10-19 9:25 AM
in reply to: #572596

User image

Cycling Guru
Fulton, MD
Subject: RE: question on changing body "type"
First, welcome to the site!! Congrats on taking the step over to the dark side of endurance sports.