General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » NYC newbie here- See you in Louisville Ironman! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-10-21 5:06 PM

User image

Veteran
NYC
Subject: NYC newbie here- See you in Louisville Ironman!
Hi everyone,

I just posted in the Louisville thread but wanted to make my way here and introduce myself as well. I'm 25, live and work in Manhattan, and am now signed up for my first Ironman.

I've completed two marathons (SF & San Diego) and have been looking for a new challenge. I'm also a member of a very competitive master's swim team in NYC. I also have a road bike that I purchased this summer (An Orbea Mitus Dama Ultergra- snagged a great deal) that I've been putting in miles on.

I dabbled in a few sprint distance tris in college and am planning over the next ten months to do an olympic or half as training. More than a few people have told me I'm insane for signing up for the iron distance right away, but really this is the only time in my life I know I'm going to have the hours to train for it. Next fall I'm moving the SF Bay area for grad school and just not sure I'll have a big block of 25 hours a week to devote to training! Plus, I've been lusting after the iron distance for two years now, and just decided to bite the bullet and go for it.

I have a coach in NYC who is a 2 time Kona finisher (and actually there today- go Cedrick!) who is going to help with my training.

A few questions:

Anyone in NYC looking for a longer road ride partner? My laps and laps of Central park are beginning to be a little dull, and also going over the GW I like to have a friend since I don't entirely know where I'm going yet.

I'll probably search for a lot of these answers, but I'm interested to know what sort of lifting routines ironman competitors have?