General Discussion Triathlon Talk » ever receive a penalty at a race? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2006-11-02 12:47 PM

Saugus
Subject: ever receive a penalty at a race?
I've been doing triathlons for 5 yrs. and this is a first. I just did the SOMA HIM on Sun., on the second loop (of 3) of the bike I noticed race officials on a motorcycle to my left, no big deal, I knew I wasn't drafting even though there were 6 or 7 of us trying to ride 1 lane that didn’t give us a lot of room we were all riding carefully and able to give each other space. The officials continued following us when we turned onto a part of the course that opened up into 3 lanes. As I passed another cyclist we commented about the motorcycle that kept following “us” and even joked that maybe we were breaking course records and that's why they were there. NOT! I then pulled over at the aide station to use the porta john. The race officials also happened to pull over so I went up to them and was half kidding when I asked if I did anything wrong, one of them told me that I was riding to the left of the other cyclist for too long and should have pulled in front or behind her, so I asked if I was DQ'd and he said no, it would only result in a 3-min. penalty. only 3-minutes! I was pretty upset, but continued and finished under my goal at 6:07! The race results were posted and to my shock and disappointment, I found out that I received a 12-minute penalty!! I contacted the RD, the timing company, everyone that I could to find out if this was a mistake, it had to be! but was told that I actually received 2 penalties, 1 for Drafting and 1 for Position. I guess I’m not as familiar with the drafting rules as I thought. I should not have been talking to the other cyclist as long as I did and needed to pass or fall behind her within 15 seconds. The Position rule requires that you “keep to the right hand side of the lane of travel unless passing”, which I always do because I’m slower t