General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hi, I'm Sharon...and I'm a Tri Addict Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-12-13 5:18 PM

User image

Master
Portland, OR
Subject: Hi, I'm Sharon...and I'm a Tri Addict
Hi all,

I've been posting on the forum for a few weeks but thought I would officially introduce myself and say a few things about where I've been and where I plan to go.

I started training for my first marathon in 2004 and enjoyed a great running season. In 2005 a hip injury kept me out of running so I started to swim...scratch that...I started playing around in the water and kept bugging my husband to get me a bike. At the beginning of this year I started running again but started talking to my best friend about doing a triathlon. I read a TON, started doing research on bikes, a little research on the swim but figured I needed a bike first. I bought a bike in June 2006 and took it out for a spin...once. It was weird being on a road bike!! I put my new baby into the garage and just kept running.

In July, 2006, my best friend, Sandy, surprised me with a birthday present: Entry fee into the Hagg Lake Triathlon- Sprint Distance. Here's the best part...she gave me the "present" 8 days before the race. 8 FREAKIN' DAYS!!!

I'm not one to make excuses or back down from a challenge so I pulled out my shiny new bike and drove out to the course to give it a spin. The Hagg Lake course is all hills. Little hills, bigger hills, and cry-for-your-mama hills. And I've been on my bike ONCE. It took me an hour and 20 minutes to ride 12.5 miles. Sweet. Bike training done, onto the swim!!