BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Tri-Meds FORMERLY medic0020's Group - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2006-12-15 5:37 PM

User image

Expert
Charlotte, NC
Subject: Tri-Meds FORMERLY medic0020's Group - CLOSED
Username--medic0020

I am a 33 y/o clydesdale coming up on the first anniversary of my decision to tackle a triathlon. I'm married with 2 kids, a stepdaughter, and a baby due in April. I'm a paramedic who tries to fit in workouts around a 70hr work week. I'm also a cancer survivor. Sept 22, 04 I was diagnosed with Hodkins Lymphoma and I've been cancer free since May 19th, 2005

This year, I'm hoping to fit in 5 sprints, 2 olympics, and putting some serious thought into a HIM in October. I'm a much stronger swimmer and biker than runner, and the HIM is intimidating to me because of the half-mary.

I use this site pretty religiously as I'm a numbers person and love to get feedback on my own performance from watching my times/distances improve.

Edited by medic0020 2007-04-02 7:13 PM

2006-12-19 1:50 PM
in reply to: #625446

Subject: RE: medic0020's Group - OPEN
Hi! I would love to join your group!
Like yourself, I also work long hours. I'm in the third year of my surgery residency and work roughly 80-hours a week. I used to be an active triathlete in medical school (about 5 years ago) and have since fallen away from training for them. I ran a half-marathon last year and felt great, but I reallllllly miss triathlons and am eager to get back into them. This is my hardest year of residency and next year I hope to have a lot more free time.

Just a little about my background....I live in a cold climate (Buffalo, NY) with my very supportive husband. No children yet.

My goals for this year....a few 5Ks early this coming year and a few sprint distance triathlons over the summer.

Ultimate goal...the big one!! Ironman.

What I need help with....motivation to get out there when I'm post-call, tired and lazy.

Thanks for considering me!!