of 18

2006-12-15 5:43 PM

User image

Champion
Atlanta, Ga
Subject: Marvarnett's Group - Full

marvarnett (Dan)

Story:
32 year old male, married, 2- 4 legged kids (dog and cat).  I started out running around the block when I was a kid.  It got me on the HS Cross Country team.  I was decent.  Then I played volleyball for several years and joined the Navy.  After the Navy, I wanted to get back in shape and picked running back up.  I was mentored by one of the girls on the CC team and challenged to run a half marathon.  Then I dated a girl that was into mountain biking and that means...I was into mountain biking. 

I still don't know how, but I was convinced into doing a Sprint Tri.  I taught myself how to swim more than from one side of the pool to the other and started there.  Got injured and was on and off for 3-4 yrs.  Finally, when I graduated from college and put on about 15#'s, I decided I needed to get back in shape.  After my hamstring surgery and 4 months of rehab, I set my plan to do a Half Ironman at the end of 2005. 

2006 was my first year as a competitive Triathlete.  Cycling, I started out getting dropped like a hot rock and slowly...oh so slowly...kept getting closer and closer to the group.  That's how I got better on the bike.  I swim practice I just listened and watched what other did and eventually got better.  I still hit the "did not drown" button when I get out of the water.  I did some Olympic/International distance, IM Wisconsin and Long Course Worlds this year.  Plus I ran the Boston Marathon and 2 Half marathons.  I consider myself just your ordinary guy that gets lucky every once in a while. 

This year, I placed in the Top 5% overall for most races and top 5 for my A/G.  Not because I'm good, but because I'm consistant and determined.

Training: