General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Opinion on IM training plans? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-12-18 12:43 PM

User image

Regular
Denver, CO (Cheeseman Park area)
Subject: Opinion on IM training plans?
Hey All -
I'm new to BT, but not to tri. I stumbled across this site a couple of months ago, and have been using the winter maintenance swim focus plan - love it! And although there are some site navigation issues, I'm learning how to use the logs, etc., and it's a fantastic tool!!!!

Question is this - I am going to start training for another IM (Vineman, Aug 4) next month probably, and I really don't want to shell out $175+/month for a coach. I have done one IM, and numerous other distances, but I am thinking I may want to go the self-coached route this time around. Does anyone have any opinions on using the BT Full Ironman Training Plan? Is it modifiable enough (haven't figured out how to do that yet) to be useful, and is the 20-week program even long enough?? I trained for 10 months for IMFL 2 years back, so half that time seems short to me. Should I look at another program to bridge the gap between now and March (when the 20 weeks would start?)

Lots o' questions - looking forward to hearing from you all -

Thanks!
Denny

2006-12-18 2:25 PM
in reply to: #627003

User image

Expert
Denver, Colorado
Subject: RE: Opinion on IM training plans?
If you have completed one IM already, and you're not a pro, then you would be a sucker to pay for a coach.

I tried to use the BT IM program for my first IM (and second tri ever), but I thought that the long workouts were too ambitious in the beginning and not ambitious enough at the end. So, I got rid of them and did long workouts according to the 10% rule in all three sports. It worked fine, so the program is sufficiently modifiable, and 20 weeks is plenty of time.