Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2006-12-20 6:31 PM

User image

Cycling Guru
Fulton, MD
Subject: Daremo's Group - FULL
NAME: Daremo / Rick

STORY: I have participated in some sort of endurance sport since my Junior year of high school, so have been doing running and/or cycling for almost 18 years. I'm 35 years old now so I've been doing endurance sports in some capacity for more than half of my life (a daunting realization!). After 5 years of purely road racing bikes I got burned out and stopped riding completely in '98. Got married, had some kids with the wife and gained 45 pounds. Got really p.o'ed with myself and decided to get back into sports again. My boss had done IMWI and was a 15 time marathoner, so I decided to try my hand at those things as well. I started riding again in '03 and running again in '04.

FAMILY STATUS: I've been married for 7 years and have three great little boys, ages - 6, 3, and 8 months. I'm the sole supporter right now so work full time as an architect in the Baltimore area.

CURRENT TRAINING: I'm sort of old school and train by RPE (perceived effort) and pace - whether in running or cycling. I've never been a big swimmer and that is definitely my weakness. With my cycling background and running ability I am a very strong player when it comes to those two events and have a ton of experience in both. I'm currently re-focusing for Boston and then will be going forward with HIM intensity training, taking a short "rest" break and focusing on the IM for the Fall.

LAST YEAR'S RACES: I only did one tri and that was the Eagleman 70.3 which was my first tri in 14 years (did one olympic before). I ran two marathons, the first as a pacer for my good friend and the second for myself as a Boston Qualifier. I also did a cycling TT and numerous running races.