Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2006-12-25 7:09 PM

User image

Expert
Earth
Subject: wsm9363's group - Full

NAME: wsm9363 / Scott

STORY: Late in 2005 I got an email from my brother (McFuzz) telling me he was signed up to do a HIM.  I had wanted to do a Tri for years.  I was then 42 and weighing 208 pounds.  I decided I needed to do something, so I started training in January 2006.  I train today to help keep in shape, and for the fun of the races.  I have found that without a goal, I will not run and swim "Just for the fun of it."

FAMILY STATUS: Married for 18 years, 4 kids ages 11, 9, 6, and 16 months.  I work 45-50 hours a week with a 1.5 hour commute (round trip)

CURRENT TRAINING: I am training for a half Marathon in April, possibly a 2nd in early May.  I am also training for several Sprints and an Oly I am not sure how many Tris I am going to do in 2007, some where between 4 and 6.  I am considering doing a Marathon in 2007, but I have not convinced myself on that score quite yet.  I generally train using a HRM, I am still working on my zones.  When possible I include my children in my training plans.  I own a tandem bike which my older children will ride with me, I also have run while they bike along.  It forces them to slow down, but I can still talk with them while I run.  Lastly at the pool, I will race my kids, I generally race them at 100 yards while I swim 150.

LAST YEAR'S RACES: I ran my first 5K in April of 2006, I finished in 34:00 minutes.  My last 5K I finished in 26:31.  I ran the Air Force half marathon in Sept, I finished in 2:21.  I ran 6 Sprints in 2006 I finished most in BOP (Back of the Pack), the final race I finished MOP.  My main weakness has been running, although I am not that fast of a swimmer.  I am working on the swimming while also continuing to improve my running speed.