General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Indoor Bike Training?'s Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-12-29 1:22 PM

Subject: Indoor Bike Training?'s
I have made the decision to go for a couple of sprint and olympic triathlons in 2007. I have been reading about the training plans and hours involved and I think I am ready. I've been spinning at they gym 2-3 times a week for about eight months, taken swimming lessons, and did a 5K the other week. My plan is to do a few sprints to gain a little confidence and then I have the olympic length as my overall goal.

The only thing I'm not sure how to tackle is the biking portion. Most of the durations laid out in the olypmic training plan are in excess of a typical 60 minute spinning class.

How do you get a bike session in that's 141 minutes long if you can't train outside the majority of the time? Do all triathletes spin on their own bikes in the wee hours of the morning at home? Spinning is my one activity that is social with the other spinning groupies and I don't think I can give that up!

2006-12-29 1:30 PM
in reply to: #636656

User image

Master
Subject: RE: Indoor Bike Training?'s
Hi! Welcome to BT.

I do go to spinning classes in the winter. But trust me on this: Only spinning and not riding outside will seriously hurt you. Yes, spinning classes are hard, but they are NOT the same as riding outside. I made the mistake in 2005 of spinning a lot and riding only occassionally, and was really hurting on the bike portion of a sprint tri I did.

When it gets warmer (and light) outside, then get on the bike. You can still be social on a bike -- find a local bike club and go on some group rides. And maybe you can convince some of your spinning class buddies to switch to road bikes in the spring, too.
2006-12-29 3:23 PM

User image

Crystal Lake, IL