General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How long should my longest swim be? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-01-25 1:59 PM

User image

Expert
Ontario
Subject: How long should my longest swim be?
I am in my first year of tri training, started swimming (with lessons) in Oct. and can now swim 750yards comfortably and with decent form. I plan to increase my longest swim by 50 yards/week, reaching 1950y swim in July.
My A race is at the beginning of Aug with a 2000m swim...I also have a oly July 15 with a 1500m swim and a HIM in Sept.
How long should my longest swim be prior to attempting the 2K swim in Aug.?
And is 50 yard/week increases too conservative? (My training plan includes 3 swims/week most weeks with a few weeks that are 4, a few that are 2)

Thanks for any advice, Cathy

2007-01-25 2:11 PM
in reply to: #667961

User image

Subject: RE: How long should my longest swim be?

Just for psychological reasons, might be nice to have a 2K under your belt, just so you know in your head you can do it.

That said, it's important to swim shorter and faster as well as longer.  Work those slow and fast twitch muscles.  But you will get greater fitness gains doing more shorter sets than longer slower sets.

As for the weekly increase, I think you'll find that increasing by 50 is too little, simply because 50 yards becomes less and less from a percentage of your entire workout.  If you can swim 1200, adding 50 is nothing.

2007-01-25 2:12 PM

Sydney Australia
Subject:
2007-01-25 3:49 PM

User image

Master
Harvard, Illinois
I would do either a weekly or monthly time trial of the longest distance you plan to swim this summer. Then you can see how well your doing and adjust your swimming accordingly.
2007-01-25 4:38 PM

User image

Champion
Chicago, Illinois