General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Staying Focused at Work Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-08-17 12:22 AM

Subject: Staying Focused at Work
What do others do to maintain your focus on the job? As I get more and more into my training, I find that I am having a terribly difficult time staying focused at work. I'm a lawyer, so focus is crucial! I enjoy my job, so my lack of focus is not due to any job dissatisfaction. Although, I do understand that they call it "work" for a reason! It's just that I find myself thinking about my swim training, my new bike (trek 5200, yeah!) or my after-work run too many times throughout the day and this is really becoming a distraction. I was thinking about getting an executive coach or someone of the sort to help me stay focused, but if anyone has any advice, it would be welcome. Thanks!

2004-08-17 12:32 AM
in reply to: #48961

User image

Extreme Veteran
Seattle, WA
Subject: RE: Staying Focused at Work
I'm in no place to give advice, but I'm in the same boat. I'm a graduate student and having a heck of a time focusing on the computer code or radar images because I keep thinking about my swim stroke or running stride. I don't have the type of consequences as you do for lack of focus, but the more I am distracted, the longer it's going to be until I graduate. Anyway, just wanted to let you know that you're not alone!
2004-08-17 12:39 AM

User image

Salt Lake City
I am with you both. Since training for races, I have more energy, but my mind is in constant motion with swimming splits, intervals planning, and while I have retained the appreciation of work for work sake, I'd be lying if I didn't admit to wanting to train all week long. Maybe what is going on here is our recognition that our priorties as to what was important to us has changed. It would seem satisfaction in life may have less to do with an extra zero on our paycheck, than commitment our time and bodies to personal perfection (kaizan!)