General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Another closet beginner - Metro Detroit, MI area Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-02-02 8:57 AM

Master
Subject: Another closet beginner - Metro Detroit, MI area
Hello!

I've been throwing around the idea of training for a triathlon for the past couple of years and finally took this plunge. I joined BT, am a member of UTTRIMAN's beginner group, and began training in early January! I'm planning on competing in the Motor City Tri sprint on June 24th and possibly the Grand Haven Festival of Races sprint on July 8th. I'm also going to enter the Hanson's 5K on March 31st.

I've told a few friends and co-workers but haven't mentioned this to my family yet. They already think I'm crazy for some of the things I do and interests I have (snowboarding, hockey, skydiving...even switching to organic foods!). I figure I'll let them know once I've got a few months of training under my belt.

I am a total beginner when it comes to swimming, but have gotten into the water and picked up some basics just by watching other swimmers at Lifetime. To date, I'm able to swim 150 meters without stopping and am steadily working towards building my endurance. My goal for February is to swim 300 meters without having to break.

I have a mountain bike and originally thought it would be ok for my first year...but I am beginning to think that it will be necessary to purchase a road or tri bike. Let me know what you guys think.

I hate running on the treadmill....but not much you can do when the streets are filled with snow and/or covered in ice!

Overall...I'm totally excited. I love this site and know that I would have given up already if I didn't have a group of people out there watching out for me and keeping an eye on my training!

2007-02-02 2:09 PM
in reply to: #676638

Master
Charlotte, NC
Subject: RE: Another closet beginner - Metro Detroit, MI area

Welcome to BT!!!