General Discussion Triathlon Talk » What's a Fair Price for Cycling Training? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-02-05 8:21 PM

Veteran
Allen, TX
Subject: What's a Fair Price for Cycling Training?
Hey Guys,

I have an opportunity to hook up with a trainer to focus on cycling skills. He doesn't have a set price, rather he subscribes to the "pay me what yo think is fair" philosophy. I have no idea what's fair, but I know you guys will have a good idea.

What would you think is a fair price to charge to take a complete newbie out for a few rides, give tips & advice and help devise a training strategy? I don't want to take advantage of the guy.

Thanks in advance!

2007-02-06 9:30 AM
in reply to: #680435

User image

Veteran
Longmont
Subject: RE: What's a Fair Price for Cycling Training?
What is he offering in the way of plans, support, etc? It will be easier to give you an idea once we know what he is offering.
2007-02-06 9:33 AM

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Based on the description you give (take a complete newbie out for a few rides, give tips & advice and help devise a training strategy), I'd say you can find someone to do that for free.
2007-02-06 9:42 AM
in reply to: #680857

Veteran
Allen, TX
co_tri_guy - 2007-02-06 9:30 AM

What is he offering in the way of plans, support, etc? It will be easier to give you an idea once we know what he is offering.

Good question - and one that is probably hard to answer.

He is willing to craft a plan to meet my specific needs. No wonder I can't figure this out! LOL! From what I understand, he can go as light or as heavy with coaching as you need.

I guess at this point I'm looking for an advisor who can teach me the ropes, take me on a few rides, show me how to not get killed on the street, etc. If that goes well, then I'd consider more serious coaching, training plans, etc.

Maybe I don't even know enough to have a coach at this point????