General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Maryland Newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-02-20 1:50 PM

User image

Westminster, MD
Subject: Maryland Newbie
Hello to everyone. What a great site this has turned out to be. I have been looking and looking for a good resource to help me finally take the plunge and I think that I have finally found one.

I guess I will introduce myself. My name is Chris and I am from Maryland (as if you didn't already know that). I am married with a beautiful wife and one wonderful 3 1/2 year old son.

First of all, I am totally new to triathlons and know virtually nothing about the sport other than you swim, bike and run all in the same race and that all the people I have seen who represent the sport are usually in incredible shape and are terrific athletes.

I do however have an athletic background. I grew up playing almost every sport possible. In High School I wrestled, played football and baseball. In college I skied, racing slalom and GS and I was in the best shape of my life.

After college I didn't do too much to keep in shape as I was young and my metabolism allowed me to stay in relatively good shape without much work. My wife (fiancee at the time) and I then trainined for our first marathon. Unfortunately I had to watch and cheer her on from the road side as a knee injury 4 weeks from the race wouldn't allow me to get anywhere past 3 miles. Talk about a complete and total let down.

I was able to bounce back and complete a bunch of 5Ks and eventually worked my way back up to and completed a 1/2 marathon. While I did finish, my knee let me know what I just did. At that point I realized that my knees will not be able to take the pounding of running long distances and I have been going down hill since...gaining about 30 pounds.