General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Working Mom just started training Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-08-22 12:53 PM

User image

Lakeland, TN
Subject: Working Mom just started training
Hi,
I am really excited about starting my training. I am about two weeks into it. I ran two triathalons about 8 years ago. I haven't done any excercising since I was diagnosed with a high risk pregnancy and told not to excercise. My daughter is now two, and the urge to get back in shape was too much to ignore! A brand new YMCA just went up in town and they have free babysitting while you work out which is the only way this is possible for me. It is going to be tough because I am so busy (I am a college professor), but I really have felt the urge to get in shape again. I kept putting it off because I was afraid that I would get too discouraged due to being very fit before, playing collegiate sports, etc., but I am just taking it a little at a time. The running is much slower than it used to be, and the distances are a lot less! I am only able to run about three miles right now, but the swimming is not bad. I did a mile on my first day back. That was always my favorite part of the triathalon!

This is the first thing that I have done for myself since I had my daughter. I would love to hear some experiences from other people who were successful in coming back from being completely out of shape. Or perhaps how some working moms fit everything into their schedules?

This seems like a great site!
Thanks,
Krista

2004-08-22 5:21 PM
in reply to: #51516

User image

Champion
Gold member
Subject: RE: Working Mom just started training