General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » This is going to be fun Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-08-25 5:57 PM

Alabama
Subject: This is going to be fun
howdy y'all! I just thought I would introduce myself. I am down here in Alabama (and would love a training buddy so if any of you are close...). I am a veteran martial artist who had to quit training due to health 'issues.' After slumping around in grief for a while, I have decided that this is the next incarnation of little ole rockheaded me. I can't wait! Before my martial arts days, I had done a fair amount of running on what are now some seriously tempermental hips. Running and anything too stressful on the joints is now out of the question (no matter how defiant I am). That will make triathlon training a little lopsided, but who cares, I'll just have to be that much better at the other two! I can do my silly little hypermobile walk for the run part. The catch is that I have not done much biking or swimming either. I can get from point A to B, but not necessarily in a stylish manner. Currently I have a mountain bike with street tires. I know I will need to buy another. Does anyone have any advice about buying a more economical road bike first or should I try to scrape the funds for a tri bike? Thanks! By the way, this is an incredible site!

2004-08-25 6:02 PM
in reply to: #53217

User image

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
Subject: RE: This is going to be fun

Welcome!  Doing tri's will be good for you - at least a balance of workouts and limited time with the impact of walking/running!  Good for you!

Get a road bike.  The road bike will be more versatile.  A few years from now, if you want to go a little faster, then get the road bike.  The tri bikes are stiff. 

Good luck

2004-08-26 11:37 AM

User image

Expert
Northern VA

Welcome to the site.  I think most of us are wobbling near the end of our respective races .   Good luck

Gary

2004-08-26 11:50 AM

User image