General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Killer Calf Cramp and Recovery Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-08-26 2:38 PM

Subject: Killer Calf Cramp and Recovery
I suffered my first and hopefully last major calf cramp in my swim class on Tuesday night. Fortunately I was in a pool and close to the wall. I couldn’t move and the instructor had to get in the water to massage it out. Today it feels like I got kicked in the calf and my calf is pretty tender. Should I wait a couple of days before I run or bike? I jogged a few yards yesterday and didn't notice any pain while I was moving, it's only when I get up to move around or touch my calf that I notice the soreness. I was planning on a 20-30 mile bike ride this weekend on my new Trek, albeit at a relaxed pace. It'll be the first time out on a road bike in man many years! Thanks for any advice!

2004-08-26 2:48 PM
in reply to: #53812

User image

Expert
Iowa
Subject: RE: Killer Calf Cramp and Recovery
I'm no doctor, I don't play one on BT and I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but ...... I got the mother of all calf cramps mid-way thru the swim in a 1/2 IM in July. It felt like I had a baseball in there. I finished the race basically swimming one-legged, worrying how I would feel on the run. I felt it a couple of times on the bike, and barely on the run, and though it was sore the next day, I rubbed and stretched it lightly and have not had any ill after-effects. I'd say you're just fine doing whatever you want. If it hurts, stop. If it doesn't, my guess is a little movement proabably will do you good. Good luck!
2004-08-26 3:03 PM
in reply to: #53824

Subject: Thanks, Dr.
Felt like someone stuck a baseball in my calf, too!
2004-08-26 3:20 PM

User image

Expert
Montreal
I have suffered massive calf cramps in the past and have gotten them undercontrol with magenesium and potassium supplements - not a recommendation just passing along how I dealt with them.