General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Starting out in Triathlon from a cycling background Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-08-29 9:20 AM

New user

manchester
Subject: Starting out in Triathlon from a cycling background
Hi Guys,
am from the UK and just stumbled across this site having looked for sources of information on getting into the triathlon. I havent done any triathlon training before although i have been cycling for the past 6 months. I train regularly on the bike (3 times per week, 25 miles per session) but havent done any running for a long while.

Am looking to do the couch to sprint program, starting with the aggressive run program for the next four months. I understand from the articles that this will give me a good running base having not run for a few years now.

The training times seem short compared to my current cycling times but i understand that I do need to see it as progressive to avoid injury.
If anyone has any other suggestions on training at this stage I would be really grateful.

Looking forward to getting to know you all out there!

Gary

2004-08-29 12:38 PM
in reply to: #54843

User image

Champion
Gold member
Subject: RE: Starting out in Triathlon from a cycling background

welcome.  yes, since your cycling is already 'up to par', what you can do is just 'hold' or gradually improve your cycling times (maybe split the 3 days into a short, medium and long session - longest being what you do now - 25miles)...then start the run and swim part according to the plan.  this will still be conservatively progressive enough to allow a safe buildup.

i dont see any reason why you would want to go back down in the cycling mileage you have gained in cycling so far.

good luck...

2004-08-30 12:18 PM

User image

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
Welcome!  Good luck with adding the swim and run!
2004-08-30 5:27 PM

User image

Veteran
Memphis, TN
welcome!
2004-08-30 5:48 PM

New user

manchester