General Discussion Triathlon Talk » It's time I ask some questions.. mostly bike questions..... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-04-12 7:52 PM

User image

Expert
Ontario
Subject: It's time I ask some questions.. mostly bike questions.....
Hi everyone. I am training for my very first season of triathlon, with 5 tris planned this summer, the first being a sprint in June and the last a half iron distance on labor day weekend.
My background is in running, started in 1998 and have run 3 full marathons, several half's and lots of shorter races. In short distances I'm middle of my age group, longer distances totally BOP. My obvious lack of endurance is totally due to lack of adequate training ie. low mileage.
My road to triathlon started with swimming lessons in October and I'm happy with my progress in the pool.
I started biking at the beginning of March when I purchased a road bike and trainer. I logged 19 hours on the bike in March, and I'm trying to get outside to ride but the weather is not really cooperating yet. I have been out for a couple longish rides (2, 2 1/2, and 3 hours) but I am SLOW!!!! I spend most of my time in the small ring and really need to learn how to use my gears.
My bike questions:
When I ride up a hill in a low gear and get over the top I then end up coasting fast down the hill, how/when do I gear up so that I can carry the momentum of the downhill and start pedalling while my speed is still up rather than having to wait until I slow down so my pedalling can catch up with my speed. Do I gear up as I crest the hill so that I'm now in a high gear to pedal fast downhill ?